Author Topic: Clunking noise / clutch judder in 1st and reverse when cold  (Read 8866 times)

guest5305

Clunking noise / clutch judder in 1st and reverse when cold
« on: March 03, 2015, 02:08:49 PM »
Hello all!

I recently bought a 2004 1.4 SE Jazz (mint opal green  :D), three days after passing my driving test - my first car! I've been very pleased with the Jazz but have recently noticed something that I'd really appreciate advice on. I'm a complete car novice so I have no sense if this is something to worry about or not!

The past few days have been fairly cold and, on starting the car and getting it out of my parking space, both in reverse and 1st gear, I've noticed a "clunking" - this isn't just a sound, I can feel it through the clutch pedal as well. It seems to mainly happen when steering sharply. It only seems to happen in the first few seconds after starting up - by the time I'm 50 metres down the road it has stopped and the problem doesn't reoccur when maneuvring slowly in a low gear at the other end of my daily journey. I haven't yet noticed it when starting the car up in the evenings.

Is this something anyone else has encountered? Is it some problem with cold fluid somewhere in the system (clutch fluid)? What sort of things should I be checking myself? Could it be something to do with the way I am driving / controlling the clutch (this is entirely possible!) and if so what should I try doing to correct it?

I'd be very grateful for any thoughts or advice!  :)

guest4283

• Topic Starter
Re: Clunking noise / clutch judder in 1st and reverse when cold
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2015, 07:48:37 PM »
I'm no mechanic but it sounds like some part of the clutch is worn out.

Does it make a noise when you just depress and then release the clutch pedal without touching the gearstick?
Current mileage ?
Do you find the clutch slipping when driving (engine speed increases without an increase in vehicle speed)?