Author Topic: Low MPG issues??  (Read 8176 times)

guest1885

Low MPG issues??
« on: January 26, 2011, 04:57:54 PM »
Hi

I'm a newbie and thought I would just check to see if I should be concerned about the MPG figures my Honda Jazz trip meter is reading (2004 SE 1400CC).

I purchased the car (UK) in June 2010 from a Honda Dealer and the MPG meter read about 33.1MPG over the course of the next few months it steadily rose to about 39MPG (I didn't reset the Trip computer on purchase).

In December 2010 I had to take the car in to have the Drivers Side rear door panel membrane replaced due to water ingress in the rear passenger footwell the  seals on the roof due to water getting into the spare tyre well and as a matter of course they reset the trip computer.

For the last month the car trip has been displaying between 31 to 33MPG, I admit I don't do allot of the driving its mostly the wife doing short journeys in and about town with the odd bit of dual carriageaway, journeys being no more than than say 10 miles at the most .

I took the car to the Honda Dealer who reset the meter and took the car for a spin and the trip read about 55MPG (though be his own admission he was driving economically and on a dual carriageway at an optimum speed to return the best figures). They have  made a note of the mileage and asked me to go back to them after 250 miles if the MPG is below mid 40's.

The car has in total now done about 26 miles since the trip reset and its already down to 39.7mpg.Tyre pressures are OK, spark plugs were last replaced in SEPT 2009, mileage is less than 45K, are these figures about right for this time of year in the UK with cold stops / starts and the car maybe not getting up to ideal running temperature , or are there any pointers (beside perhaps the wife's driving) that I need to look out for / be aware of. We often do get our fuel from Asda. I don't know if anyone has had an
experience of lower MPG figures from the same.