Author Topic: Pensioners have more penalty points than young drivers!  (Read 1979 times)

Westy36

• Approved Member
  • Fuel economy: Extremely good !!
  • My Honda: 2013 Jazz 1.4 ES Silver

Kremmen

• Approved Member
  • Civinfo interloper
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: MY22 Jazz EX
Re: Pensioners have more penalty points than young drivers!
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2021, 04:25:39 PM »
I've been driving since 1969 and never had a single point.

I've still got my clean paper licence from 1983 when I last moved.

I am unique :D
Let's be careful out there !

Jocko

• Approved Member
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: Died from rust.
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2021, 04:41:54 PM »
1965 for me and no points. Did get a parking ticket for going into a private parking area covered by a camera. It was dark, I drove in then back out, but that was enough.

Kenneve

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2023 Jazz Advance e-HEV, Red
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2021, 05:38:31 PM »
Been driving since 1955, have driven over half a million miles, with no points
A teenager can only be a group covering 4 years, don’t know what the total number of drivers would be, whereas a pensioner could be a group covering 20+ years, so, obviously the numbers of pensioners will be far more, pro rata.

ColinS

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2018 HR-V EX-Navi CVT
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2021, 05:43:19 PM »
"More than 304,000 pensioners (over 65s) currently have penalty points on their driving licence, which is almost 25 times the number of young teenage drivers"

Firstly what do they class as a young teenager as opposed to a teenager ?

And then consider how many more drivers there are in the over 65s bracket.

But I guess it makes a good headline.

madasafish

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 1.4 ES CVT -2012
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2021, 06:24:27 PM »
"More than 304,000 pensioners (over 65s) currently have penalty points on their driving licence, which is almost 25 times the number of young teenage drivers."