Author Topic: That front grille...  (Read 2002 times)

guest5901

That front grille...
« on: January 26, 2016, 06:17:52 AM »
Hi to all!

A newbie here in the forums and got a blue 2009 Honda Jazz Sport GE 1.5L a month ago. Really excited about it with all the mods that I plan to do.

There's just one thing that annoys me. The front grille is really dirty, actually it's WAXY. Can't get that waxy dust out of it with a toothbrush and water or detergent.

Here are some pics :

Can you suggest ways on how can I get rid of the waxy dust and make the grille look good as new?
(I don't want to replace it with a new one)

Thank you :)

guest1372

• Topic Starter
Re: That front grille...
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2016, 08:34:54 AM »
Welcome to the forum.

I have a proprietary product in a spray can called 'back-to-black', but the classic item is smooth peanut butter, but that is messy enough itself although it does work. An alternative may be to try a glass cleaner than contains IPA (isopropanol alcohol), that seems to dissolve most things, and WD-40 gives a temporary gloss shine to black trim, but not sure if that is available in Bahrain.
--
TG

guest5901

• Topic Starter
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2016, 08:52:58 AM »
Thanks for the info TG. Really appreciate it.

If the smooth peanut butter doesn't work  ^_^  , I will try to find glass cleaners here with IPA. We have WD-40 here so it's ok.

:D

culzean

• Approved Member
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2016, 12:19:13 PM »
There is a Car Plan product called 'Black Chrome' that is a wax with black pigment in it, unlike 'back to black' which is just a clear silicon spray (same as Armorall )  that coats up whatever is there and make it shiny (bit like when you put water on a dry pebble and all sorts of patterns and colours appear,  only to disappear when it dries out),  The clear silicon does leave a repellent layer behind,  but for good,  long lasting results and protection I feel Black Chrome has the edge