Author Topic: Service and some extra charges  (Read 3721 times)

whoopster

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2011 1.4 Elegance Hybrid
Service and some extra charges
« on: September 11, 2012, 06:59:55 AM »
Hi Everyone

I just had the first service performed on my 2011 Honday Jazz Hybrid.  With only 8'000 km (5'000 miles) driven in the eleven months that I have owned the car, the onboard computer informed me that it was time for a "service B".

Took the car into the dealer for the oil change and all necessary checks.

However, there were two entries on the work report that I found interesting.

1. Fuel additive was used.  The dealer says that it helps to keep the fuel lines and engine clean.
2. A battery charge.  Dealer claimed that the battery was low.

Do these activities sound reasonable?  I have never used a fuel additive before.  I had assumed that the gasoline already contains some form of detergent.  As for the battery issue, the car did not seem to have a problem.  Dealer said that it may have to do with using the phone charger, but I do not believe that.

Your ideas are welcome.

John Ratsey

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2022 HR-V Elegance
Re: Service and some extra charges
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 07:45:06 AM »
If fuel additive is recommended in the owner's manual (I'm sure it isn't) then there could be justification for its use.

As for a phone charger draining the battery, that's bovine excrement. The alternator probably has more than enough capacity to charge 100 mobile phones at the same time. If the battery isn't full at this time of year then it's going to give you problems come winter with the extra power drain from more lights, wipers, etc. I've just checked and anything left plugged in the power socket is automatically turned off when you take the key out.