Author Topic: Fuel Warning Light & Tank Capacity  (Read 47542 times)

guest869

Fuel Warning Light & Tank Capacity
« on: January 30, 2012, 06:07:12 AM »
When I went to fill up yesterday the low level light had been on for some time and the gauge was quite a long way down. However I only managed to get 33.6 litres in (and that was trying to get more in after the first auto shut off)

My tank capacity is 42 litres.

So I nearly have a quarter of a tank left!

Anybody really pushed the lower level warning and run the car for miles? I need to carry a spare can and just see how far I can go.

Ozzie

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2011 HS, 2015 HS-T, now in a VW T-Roc
Re: Fuel Warning Light & Tank Capacity
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2012, 08:41:01 AM »
I am a driving instructor, and can only get around 10 hours of tuition from a tank of fuel in the Jazz, so if I am busy, I need to top up again each evening to get me through the next day. I know its only £25-£30 a time and it all equates to the same thing, but it just annoys me too that in theory theres 15 litres of fuel constantly sitting there that I don't have the bottle to use.

guest2865

• Topic Starter
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2012, 09:27:24 AM »
I experience a similar lack of confidence in the fuel gauge.  I haven't gone down as far as the light coming on but a needle about 3 needle widths off of the bottom mark still allows around 15 litres still in there.

Pine

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Honda IZY Lawnmower
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2012, 09:33:49 AM »