Author Topic: Stalling when changing from N to D  (Read 1359 times)

marceljourde

• Registered Member
  • My Honda: Honda Jazz SE
Stalling when changing from N to D
« on: June 17, 2021, 10:29:17 AM »
I'm new to the Jazz world, and really like my 2003 SE automatic a lot. This forum is great for advice.

My problem is this:

Starting the car is fine, and the idle soon settles to around 1000 rpm. When changing to D, however, the engine splutters and almost stalls, then recovers to around 700 rpm, although it is clearly struggling (revs going up and down for a few seconds). When the engine is warm, changing from N to D will always make the engine stall. Driving is generally fairly smooth, although I think there is some hesitation when accelerating.

Things I've tried (I'm very much an amateur):

-  cleaned EGR valve
-  changed spark plugs (the previous ones were quite white - perhaps because changed by previous owner relatively recently, or a lean mixture?) and air filter
-  bled coolant
-  visually inspected for vacuum leaks (but I haven't done a proper test)
-  cleaned throttle valve
-  did an idle relearn a couple of times

One thing I've noticed is that the PCV hose on top of the engine is quite compressed, and I suspect the PCV valve is not working (I couldn't hear it working when I pinched the hose) - could that be the problem?

The mechanic I usually go to thinks it is the throttle body, or one of the sensors attached to it. He was going to fit a reconditioned body, but unfortunately is ill at the moment. Is the throttle body the likely cause?

Any suggestions about what to try next would be very welcome.

embee

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2018 Jazz SE CVT
Re: Stalling when changing from N to D
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2021, 11:02:26 AM »
My guess would be transmission issue rather than engine per se.