Author Topic: Is the Honda Jazz 1.4 EX underpowered?  (Read 9691 times)

Aitcho

Is the Honda Jazz 1.4 EX underpowered?
« on: May 30, 2011, 03:33:32 PM »
Firstly as a new member to these forums I would just like to say Hello to everyone.

I am a disabled driver at present driving a Nissan Note automatic which was obtained under the Motability scheme and is due to be returned early September so I have to look for another automatic car.

Over the last few months I have been buying various car magazines and also researching on the web seeking information on various models, at the moment the Honda Jazz 1.4 EX (CVT) is at the top of my list.

One of the magazines I purchased was 'Top Gear' Test Drive Directory and in the performance section of their Honda Jazz report they state the following:-

"The engine options are 89bhp, 1.2-litre or 98bhp, 1.4-litre units. On the road, an absence of real power from both is apparent, especially when loaded with a couple of adults and kids. Even the 1.4 with 99bhp is hard work to get moving with any pizzazz, and when you drive something comparable on size and money, like the latest Renault Clio, there's the trace of a suspicion that you've been short-changed".

In view of the above statement is the Honda Jazz underpowered?

I have been lurking on the forums for a week or so reading all the past posts to try and get a better understanding of the Honda Jazz and have found various posts a great help, also found an interesting test on a Honda Jazz 1.5 which went into some detail about the CVT system:-

http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/JazzVtec/

Found the Honest John web site to be invaluable.

I am wondering how the Honda Jazz loaded with a couple of passengers could tackle the 'Horseshoe Pass' from the Llangollen side and also the 'Cat and Fiddle' heading to Sheffiled, has any member taken their Jazz on these routes?