Author Topic: Noise from Engine, looking for more information ?  (Read 1087 times)

aj

• Registered Member
  • My Honda: Jazz 2013 iVTEC EX
Noise from Engine, looking for more information ?
« on: March 23, 2022, 08:11:12 PM »
Hi, i have recently purchased an old Jazz 2013 model. But after few days it has started giving strange noise after driving for few miles (video attached for the noise). Any suggestions on what can be the problem ? I have also reported this to dealer who has not come back to me on this yet but wondering what is the size of the problem ? (I am a new driver so don't know much).

madasafish

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 1.4 ES CVT -2012
Re: Noise from Engine, looking for more information ?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2022, 09:23:25 AM »
Sounds like: noisy tappets.
Check oil level. If it looks dirty, an oil and filter change using correct parts is recommended.

olduser1

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Jazz EX 2015 CVT Elite Pack
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2022, 01:45:00 PM »
If you purchased your Jazz from a garage your able to put your concerns issues in writing asking them to put it right in week or you want a full refund. See which?or Citizens Advice buying used car legal protection. Let the forum know how you get on.

culzean

• Approved Member
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2022, 02:41:20 PM »
Tappets and piston slap normally worse when cold, before things have warmed up and expanded....  Worth trying an oil change though,  as that can often quieten things down...

Otherwise ...

https://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/advice/the-car-i-bought-has-a-problem-what-are-my-rights-aAnMC5b0ZzJb

Make sure there is a paper trail between you and the dealer,  phoning is no good as not really traceable - email is a legal document,  so put everything in an email - otherwise send letters that need signing for by receiver...