Author Topic: AC clutch not engaging.. yippie-kay!  (Read 1875 times)

Brakballe

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Honda Jazz II GG3
AC clutch not engaging.. yippie-kay!
« on: April 20, 2023, 05:40:01 PM »
Hi all in this sacred congregation!
Ok, finally we had nuff sun up so it got hot enough outside so to for the first time have a need for a (working) AC, which.. didn't work..
OK. I have read a previous thread here and is in progress finding out what it is about. Good thing is that I know my way around electronics by profession and is not shy from doing some tinkering. For now I have stated that the clutch is not engaging. And the pecking order to me looks like this:
1. Check fuses, done
2. Check relay. In progress, hard to access here. Think I need (re)move the battery then pull out the relay and check it.
3. If not the relay, measure the AC clutch solenoid.
4. Cry..

The car is a 2011 GG3 with 71k kms on the odo.

What I'm asking about is a kinda poll about those of yours that have had problems with the AC clutch not engaging on your Mk.II what was the reason? Basically the most common reason and the fix.

For now I will burn some incense and do Viking rituals in hope for it's just the relay when I finally can access it..

Thanks in advance :)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2023, 07:10:15 PM by Brakballe »

GBH

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2010 1.4 EX Auto
Re: AC clutch not engaging.. yippie-kay!
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2023, 07:33:40 AM »
Have you had the pressures checked?

This is always the first thing to check as without any refrigerant the clutc will not engage.

Brakballe

• Topic Starter
  • Approved Member
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2023, 10:38:19 AM »

This is always the first thing to check as without any refrigerant the clutc will not engage.

Hm.. nope. OK. Will check it. That was the thing on yours?

GBH

• Approved Member
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2023, 06:23:35 PM »