Author Topic: Krem v Dealer  (Read 5488 times)

Kremmen

• Approved Member
  • Civinfo interloper
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: MY22 Jazz EX
Krem v Dealer
« on: July 20, 2021, 06:05:23 AM »
After the test drive I told the dealer I was definitely interested but I didn't want an August registration prior to the new Sep reg.

I further told them that if Sep is busy then I'm happy to wait till Oct as I'm holding out for a MY22 as well. New reg and latest model. No rush as my Civic is taxed, MOT and serviced till March and has zero problems.

They won't give up as they phoned me twice yesterday trying desperately to get me back to the showroom.

Over the years I've heard it all before as I've been buying new, normally every 3 years, since the 1980's. I walked out of a Citroen showroom once and they chased after me, that walk saved me £1,500  :)
Let's be careful out there !

Gas Jazz

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: None - considering a Jazz Crosstar
Re: Krem v Dealer
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2021, 05:15:55 PM »
I think the balance of power between dealer and seller has radically changed with the internet and the likes of Carwow and We Buy Any Car etc

- I’ve given up playing games with dealers and their techniques to take charge. My pproach is very simple:

1.  I test drive at the local dealer
2. If I want the car I go home get a price from Carwow and one from WBAC for my p ex
3. I contact my local dealer and tell him what Carwow can supply the car for and what WBAC are offering in P ex and invite him to match it.
4. If he matches it or gets very close I will buy from him - I do feel a bit of loyalty as he has supplied the test drive etc. However this only goes so far and if if he is way off I will just go to one of the carwow dealers instead.

Every time I have tried this with Audi it has worked.  My only failure was with Hyundai who, despite me having bought 3 cars from the dealership tried to say the Carwow offer was fake etc.