Author Topic: Aircon not working  (Read 3128 times)

u587162

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Honda Jazz Sport CVT
Aircon not working
« on: August 09, 2020, 11:26:05 AM »
My wife's 56 plate Honda Jazz stopped blowing out cold air maybe 4-6 weeks ago.

Have read other posts here and online /  youtube videos about DIY EZ chill regassing etc.  I just wanted to check, but when I press the A/C button which goes green, but I dont hear the normal noise that comes on when the AC usually does (is that the engine cooling fan perhaps?), am I wasting my money buying a can of this cooling gas if it could be something more problematic like a compressor failure etc?

Also whereabouts would I find the lower pressure valve to fill this up?  I have never done this before, should I be worried about doing it correctly or injuring myself?

culzean

• Approved Member
Re: Aircon not working
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2020, 11:46:52 AM »
Go to Halfords, quikfit or almost any of the auto places and get them to evacuate and regass the system,  costs £50 to £70 and it will check if you have leaks etc - they will put the correct quantity of gas into your system and then if it still doen't want to work then start looking for other things.  The eze-chill bottle is OK as long as you use it for routine top ups to allow for natural leakage ( about 10% a year - a bottle lasts us 3 or 4 years ).

One thing to note,  the less you use the aircon the faster the gas will leak out...
Some people will only consider you an expert if they agree with your point of view or advice,  when you give them advice they don't like they consider you an idiot

equaliser

• Approved Member
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: 2018 Honda Jazz 1.3 I-VTEC EX Navi CVT
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2020, 11:47:04 AM »