Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Honda Jazz Mk3 2015 - / Re: Main Beam Assist
« Last post by culzean on Today at 10:22:39 AM »
I am new to automatics but aren't they all the same in this respect? Just before I got the car I spoke to my brother who hasn't driven a manual for over 40 years and he said he has always just used foot on the brake in all stop situations except longer stops (level crossings for example). I think the auto idle stop on his BMW works on the footbrake as well.
It is true of most of them but I think there's one model (VW possibly) that restarts the engine on the accelerator pedal being pressed. It occurs to me that perhaps most of them don't because of the torque converter. Maybe there's a problem restarting the engine if the TC is likely to turn. VW automatics have clutches so would have an easier way around that.

VW and their other brands use DSG automated gearboxes with clutches, easily damaged by creeping or hill holding. A torque converter can stop or creep indefinitely.

+1

A torque converter is a fluid coupling,  unlike a clutch that has friction material that is not happy to be partly engaged ( that is when the smoke appears).
« Last post by Skyrider on Today at 10:17:43 AM »
I am new to automatics but aren't they all the same in this respect? Just before I got the car I spoke to my brother who hasn't driven a manual for over 40 years and he said he has always just used foot on the brake in all stop situations except longer stops (level crossings for example). I think the auto idle stop on his BMW works on the footbrake as well.
It is true of most of them but I think there's one model (VW possibly) that restarts the engine on the accelerator pedal being pressed. It occurs to me that perhaps most of them don't because of the torque converter. Maybe there's a problem restarting the engine if the TC is likely to turn. VW automatics have clutches so would have an easier way around that.