Author Topic: Changing clock aftermarket stereo  (Read 732 times)

Ddbassman

  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Mk3 2017
Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« on: April 17, 2022, 01:28:03 PM »
Has anyone changed their stereo on a mk 3 and found anything that can change the time on the dash? It keeps time but with summer time I canít increment them hour.

Any ideas?


NathanC67

  • New Member
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Honda Jazz Mk 3
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2022, 01:31:29 PM »
There is a setting for Daylight Saving Time in the settings menu on the onscreen display.

Ddbassman

  • Topic Starter
  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Mk3 2017
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2022, 02:31:31 PM »
Thank you. I have removed the factory unit though so just wondering if there is another way. The option doesnít seem to exist on the controls from the steering wheel.

Lord Voltermore

  • Approved Member
  • *
  • Posts: 536
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: 2021 Jazz EX
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2022, 12:24:09 PM »
Sorry to add to your woes  but you may eventually also need to correct the minutes, and if the car battery is ever disconnected the time might reset  to something completely wrong.       

I wonder if any scanners or apps that connect to the obd ll  port are able to alter the dashboard clock?   Might be worth a try if you already have access to one, or do some  research into their functions.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2022, 12:25:50 PM by Lord Voltermore »
Sorry if its too long winded. I failed my brevity exam at school. Ran out of paper.

Ddbassman

  • Topic Starter
  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Mk3 2017
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2022, 12:53:26 PM »
I have an obd2 connector so will try that, thank you for the suggestion. I suspect the obd2 protocols wonít allow it though.

If it does Iíll update on here.

BadgerMk3

  • Approved Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Jazz Mk3
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2022, 07:43:26 PM »
Does the time on the head unit synchronise with the dash?

Which aftermarket head unit do you have?

Ddbassman

  • Topic Starter
  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Mk3 2017
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2022, 05:28:54 PM »
It doesnít sync its a pioneer.

But there are a few cables that are not connected to anything. So I suspect one of these adjusts the clock.

Lord Voltermore

  • Approved Member
  • *
  • Posts: 536
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: 2021 Jazz EX
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2022, 10:35:51 AM »
I believe when fitting some radios to some cars  you also need to buy an additional wiring loom that is specific to that car , which has additional connector blocks to operate things like  steering wheel volume controls etc.  Could you be missing this kit, or part of it ?
Sorry if its too long winded. I failed my brevity exam at school. Ran out of paper.

Ddbassman

  • Topic Starter
  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Mk3 2017
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2022, 10:47:38 AM »
Hi, thanks for that. I have purchased one connector for the steering wheel but it didnít come with anything else. I donít know if it exists for the time.

BadgerMk3

  • Approved Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Jazz Mk3
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2022, 07:10:50 PM »
Pioneer make a lot of head units, so which particular one? Model No?

I think Lord Volt is in the right ball park, where you may need additional interfaces to get the H/U to sync with the existing Honda configuration, if indeed that is possible.

Ddbassman

  • Topic Starter
  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Mk3 2017
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2022, 07:58:50 PM »
Hi,

It's pioneer sph-da160dab. Not sure where I could buy one of the adapters you refer to. Any ideas?


BadgerMk3

  • Approved Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Jazz Mk3
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2022, 07:49:48 AM »
I had a quick look at the Pioneer site and it looks like your HU is compatible with the Mk3.

I've no idea how you've wired it or which wiring accessories you've used, but it may be worth contacting Pioneer customer support to see if they can help.

In the meantime, can't you manually adjust the multi information display? I would have thought you could use the steering column controls to adjust the time as per the 'customisation flow' diagram on page 130 of the manual.

ColinB

  • Approved Member
  • *
  • Posts: 870
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: 2015 Jazz 1.3 SE manual in Milano Red
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2022, 09:03:37 AM »
Out of interest, is it just the clock adjustment that doesn't work? There are other car functions that display on the OEM head unit, such as the parking sensors and reversing camera (if your car has one). Does your new head unit display these successfully?

Ddbassman

  • Topic Starter
  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: Mk3 2017
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2022, 08:09:42 AM »
So, I think that the stereo I had meant that the clock adjustment was deleted in the control on the speedo cluster. I will look again though thanks for the info.

The connector adapter I used from auto leads for the the volume control works. I believe everything else is separate from the Stereo. My car didn't have the camera as stock. The sensors still work but they show up on the little screen in the speedo cluster.


ColinB

  • Approved Member
  • *
  • Posts: 870
  • Country: gb
  • My Honda: 2015 Jazz 1.3 SE manual in Milano Red
Re: Changing clock aftermarket stereo
« Reply #14 on: May 14, 2022, 09:11:49 PM »
The sensors still work but they show up on the little screen in the speedo cluster.

OK, but with the OEM head unit the parking sensors display on BOTH the infotainment display and the multi-function display to the right of the speedo. You probably don't need both, but it indicates that the new head unit isn't integrated properly with the car.

Tags:
 

Back to top