Author Topic: Jumpy brakes  (Read 693 times)

Brakballe

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Honda Jazz II GG3
Jumpy brakes
« on: January 06, 2023, 05:36:23 PM »
Hi all! I'm new to this thing and is coming from 15 yrs on a Mazda6 where I have very little to complain about performance wise except... RUST!

Have not done my walkaround yet on the car because the season right now here is not very inspiring for such activities outdoors.

But: I feel that the brakes is very jumpy and abrupt when trying slowing at slow speeds, queuing etc.
Does it have old style vacuum brake power assist or new electronic (because of the antiskid/traction system, VSA)?
Fault, adjustable or plz take off your shoes and deal with it?

There is more to come of gripes but that in other topics as I warm up to this.. hm.. different lady.
By all means, cannot imagine myself in any other brand in this size and type.
Tried Polo, Yaris, Fiasco, Mazda2, Hyundai i20 and i10 and Corsa, no match.
To brilliant a car!

Jocko

• Approved Member
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: Died from rust.
Re: Jumpy brakes
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2023, 08:18:38 PM »
Standard vacuum servo. Perhaps the brakes are too good for you. I am experiencing similar with my new (to me) Fabia because the brakes are so much better than my old Jazz.

Brakballe

• Topic Starter
  • Approved Member
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2023, 08:47:02 PM »
Standard vacuum servo. Perhaps the brakes are too good for you. I am experiencing similar with my new (to me) Fabia because the brakes are so much better than my old Jazz.

Fabia! Sheez! Infidel!!! :P

madasafish

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 1.4 ES CVT -2012
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2023, 10:00:50 AM »
I found the brakes quite fierce at first with standard pads.
At 30k miles I stripped both front and rear down, carefully lubricated all sliders and moving parts with HMP silicon grease, ensured everything was clean and reassembled carefully.
Result: a bit smoother application.