Author Topic: Considering buying Mk3 2016 1.3 EX CVT  (Read 1814 times)

Akhilv

• Registered Member
  • My Honda: Civic
Considering buying Mk3 2016 1.3 EX CVT
« on: May 22, 2019, 12:40:38 PM »
Dear Club,

I am new to this and am in the market for a small auto.

I have been considering a 2016 Jazz CVT in the EX or EX Navi Spec as I like what the car comes with.

I would be ever so grateful if you guys could share your thoughts on the car (ride, quality, reliability, noise) and what I should look out for when buying. I only want to buy the car from a Honda dealer though and don’t know if the Mk2 is more reliable than the Mk3.

I want a car that will be cheap to run, reliable and wont cost much in servicing/ gearbox oil changes.

We do own a 2008 civic which has been okay (with some issues back in the past).

p.s I am also debating if I should look at a yaris hybrid or not……

Really appreciate your opinions.

Regards,

Akhil.

Downsizer

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Jazz 1.3 SE cvt - Feb '16 - Blue
Re: Considering buying Mk3 2016 1.3 EX CVT
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2019, 01:32:42 PM »
I've had both Mk2 and Mk 3 Jazz, and they've both been 100% reliable over 100,000 miles between them.  I think the Mk3 ride is better.  Looks are a personal matter, and I think the Mk2 was more attractive, but it doesn't matter when you're inside it!  Mk3 has more rear seat leg-room, with a slightly shorter but taller boot space.  I can't comment on the Yaris hybrid, but I think you'll find it smaller inside, and I particularly value the rear seat fold flexibility in the Jazz.
On servicing, I have always had a contract, so the cost is known in advance.  My local dealer provides Honda roadside assistance at no extra cost, which gives peace of mind.  The cvt gearbox oil is changed alternate years as part of the contract.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 02:01:38 PM by Downsizer »

thehazzard

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Honda Jazz GK EX 2017 Sunset Orange