Author Topic: New Owner (novice to honda)  (Read 4825 times)

guest6641

New Owner (novice to honda)
« on: February 19, 2017, 08:57:38 AM »
Hello I bought a Jazz 53 1.4 i dsi yesterday.

Sold my Audi S3 and Seat leon cupra r and bought this as im trying to move house.

Found a 53 plate 1.4 dsi se model, in fantastic condition with on 50k on the clock for £1100. Coming from the cars I had its been a bit of a shock, but on first impressions its a good little car.

As I have always had VAG cars in the past I am a total novice when it comes to honda.

Just a few questions, what grade oil do people recommend and whats the oil capacity on these little cars?

Its been fully serviced, great history. Anything else that needs to be looked at engine wise on these cars??

Just any general information would be great.

Thanks Mikey

culzean

• Approved Member
Re: New Owner (novice to honda)
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2017, 09:44:21 AM »
welcome to forum,

You will probably find that Jazz will hold more stuff than both the other cars put together.

Any decent 10W-40 or 5W-30 oil (Opie oils recommends 10W-40 for MK1)  personally I use Castrol magnatec but there are plenty of good oils out there for less than £30 for 4 litres and plenty of expensive oils as well,   Jazz oil capacity is 3.8 Litres.

Check for a whining noise from gearbox in lower gears (bearing) and grumbling from rear wheel bearings.

Enjoy
Some people will only consider you an expert if they agree with your point of view or advice,  when you give them advice they don't like they consider you an idiot

RichardA

• Administrator
  • Approved Member
    • https://clubjazz.org
  • My Honda: 2007 1.4 i-DSi Sport manual
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2017, 06:47:57 PM »
Hello and welcome. :)