Author Topic: Help with Changing Front Shock Absorbers - Honda FRV  (Read 1255 times)

SuperCNJ

• Approved Member
Help with Changing Front Shock Absorbers - Honda FRV
« on: November 24, 2022, 01:19:08 AM »
Hi All,

We bought a Honda FRV over the summer with the intention to use it for road trips and managed to get one with relatively low miles (61k) but after driving it for a little while we noticed that the car sounded really harsh and noisy over rough roads. It sounds very "crashy" as if there's no suspension. I took it to Honda for a winter check-up and asked them to take a look and the technician said it might be the bump stop. I'm no expert but this didn't seem right to me.

My understanding was that the bump stop only really engages when you get to the end of the suspension travel, such as when you hit a very deep pothole but the problem I have is not just potholes, it's on anything other than smooth tarmac.

So after doing a bit of research, it seems my shock absorber may be on its way out. I don't have any bouncing which I believe is an obvious telltale sign of a dead shock absorber but I can't see what else it could be. I decided to take up a discounted offer on a set of shocks but having not replaced shocks before, I have a couple of questions I hope someone can help with.

1. I am planning to reuse my existing spring with the new shock absorber and a new dust boot/bump stop but was wondering if I need to replace the other parts as well?

2.  Does the bearing plate (item 9 in the above diagram) need to be lubricated? If so, what lubricant should I use?

3. How far or tight do I need to fasten the single lock nut (item 14) on the top of the shock absorber? Obviously, I can keep tightening it which will compress the shock but is there a proper way to tighten this?

4. What are the torque settings for the nuts?
I've not been able to find torque settings for the Honda FRV but found settings for other cars. Do these seem right?