Author Topic: Catalytic  (Read 2137 times)

JudeH

• Registered Member
  • My Honda: Honda Jazz
Catalytic
« on: January 04, 2022, 09:45:30 AM »
Hello

I have joined this forum to ask a question about my Honda.  I have a Honda Jazz registration OV60DUY & live in an area where catalytic converters are being stolen daily. Last year  I bought something to protect it online but the guy in the garage said it was the wrong thing.
I just called a Honda dealership & they said that this is an older make - 2010? & very rarely has the converter stolen as it is in a different location.  I wonder if this is correct but also if I should still protect it.
I need my car & couldn’t afford for it to be damaged if the converter is stolen. Any advice would be appreciated.  I’m not very technical so if you think I should protect the car any advice on exactly what I should but would be great.
Thanks so much. Happy New Year! 

culzean

• Approved Member
Re: Catalytic
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2022, 10:03:31 AM »
Hello

I have joined this forum to ask a question about my Honda.  I have a Honda Jazz registration OV60DUY & live in an area where catalytic converters are being stolen daily. Last year  I bought something to protect it online but the guy in the garage said it was the wrong thing.
I just called a Honda dealership & they said that this is an older make - 2010? & very rarely has the converter stolen as it is in a different location.  I wonder if this is correct but also if I should still protect it.
I need my car & couldn’t afford for it to be damaged if the converter is stolen. Any advice would be appreciated.  I’m not very technical so if you think I should protect the car any advice on exactly what I should but would be great.
Thanks so much. Happy New Year!

Your 60 reg MK2 Jazz is OK,  it has the CAT tucked up behind the engine and in any case the newer CAT is less attractive to steal as it has  a lot less precious metal inside than the older MK1 type.