Author Topic: Shall I buy this Mk2 Jazz that I found rust on?  (Read 5556 times)

guest6644

Shall I buy this Mk2 Jazz that I found rust on?
« on: February 20, 2017, 06:33:03 AM »
Hi guys,

I've been looking at Jazz / Fits for the past two weeks and I thought I'd found this gem of a Mk 2, 2008 model Jazz. I was so happy with it until I saw this rust on the inside of the rear wheel arch at the bottom. It's on both sides of the car, but only the rear. I don't know if it's worth buying, despite an attractive price.

Any advice? I'm a novice, but I don't mind getting my hands dirty with a bit of DIY-fixing if there are guides out there to show me the way.

[attachment deleted by admin]

JohnAlways

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Jazz 1.2i-VTEC S (AC) 2013
Re: Shall I buy this Mk2 Jazz that I found rust on?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2017, 08:48:22 AM »
Personally it looks fairly serious and not worth the effort. Plenty of non-rusty jazzes about. That is extreme for a Jazz in my opinion.

madasafish

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 1.4 ES CVT -2012
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2017, 09:14:52 AM »
I would not.

At that extreme, you can only delay it - not fix it..

Did you look underneath? Could be a lot worse.
As above , look elsewhere.. UNLESS it is VERY cheap.

guest6644

• Topic Starter
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2017, 09:42:59 AM »
Thanks for the replies. Just to add a bit more info

I didn't look underneath, but checked under the hood and spare wheel and the chassis looks as clean as any car I've seen.

The going rate for these in my neck of the woods is between USD$6,500- $7,000, but I know the owner of this would accept a tad over $5,000.

I'm actually in Hong Kong but just changed the currency for ease. It's a significant saving, but if the rust is too far advanced to be saved then I won't go for it.