Author Topic: Changing gear not that smooth  (Read 5932 times)

edam

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2015 1.3 SE CVT
Changing gear not that smooth
« on: May 01, 2018, 11:47:50 PM »
I have started to notice that when my car changes gear it is not that smooth
Yes mine does change gear but only in "S" and only  between 1st and 2nd if they exist.
It does "clonk" for want of a better word.
I know the CVT,s dont have gears ,I have driven enough of them, but this one does.
Anybody else notice this??

Skyrider

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 1.5 Sport CVT.
Re: Changing gear not that smooth
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2018, 08:13:34 AM »
I am new to CVTs, I know how they work and mine has seven virtual computer generated gears. I can select them in "D" or "S" mode using the steering wheel gear selectors, providing that the computer is happy about appropriate speed etc. On my car the CVT will do a virtual downshift if you accelerate even slightly hard, the CVT instantly drops to an appropriate ratio. This may be the " jolt" you are feeling in "D" or "S" auto mode. I find for normal driving the CVT is best left to sort the ratio it requires, it is better than me at doing it and I have driven cars, HGVs, and Fire Engines for more years than I want to remember so I have a rough idea about gear selection. Has your car had the 25,000 mile CVT fluid change?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2018, 08:21:45 AM by Deeps »

Jocko

• Approved Member
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: Died from rust.
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2018, 08:29:52 AM »
The CVT has a starting clutch. Could that, disengaging, possibly be what is being felt? As a non CVT driver I may be pi**ing in the wind.

Skyrider

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 1.5 Sport CVT.
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2018, 08:32:40 AM »
The CVT has a starting clutch. Could that, disengaging, possibly be what is being felt? As a non CVT driver I may be pi**ing in the wind.

The MK3 CVT does not have a starting clutch, it has a torque converter.

EDIT -