Author Topic: Noisy Bridgestone tyres  (Read 2229 times)

chrisv

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2011 cvt jazz
Noisy Bridgestone tyres
« on: December 11, 2022, 10:37:56 PM »
Hi
A few months ago I replaced my Michelin tyres with Bridgestone after checking reviews. I have noticed a considerable increase in road noise, anyone else had the same results,
Chris

Lord Voltermore

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2021 Jazz EX
Re: Noisy Bridgestone tyres
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2022, 03:48:48 PM »
Sorry I have no experience of swopping these makes.  But have you allowed for the fact new tyres tend to be a bit noisier until they have  settled down a bit.     And then a bit noisier as colder weather sets in.

Also tyre fitters may have used a fairly high pressure.  Is it possible your Michelins were run at a lower  ,more 'comfortable' pressure.
  Trust a dog to guard your house  , but not your sandwich

GBH

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: 2010 1.4 EX Auto
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2022, 08:43:34 AM »
You do not mention exactly what criteria you used to select the tyres. Did you compare the noise level ratings or just look at the buyer reviews?

The last time I had to change tyres I looked up one of the national retailer's website and found that the noise ratings varied considerably between model of tyre even from the same manufacturer.

The days of "are they black, round and fit my wheels and wallet?" seem to have gone.

Brakballe

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Honda Jazz II GG3
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2023, 05:15:19 PM »
Doesna help much just stating the brand and not the (type) model and dimensions since for all I know be studded winter tires...
Looking at Turanza T005 in 175/65R15 meself and is confident they will be fine...
« Last Edit: January 06, 2023, 05:17:12 PM by Brakballe »

Jocko

• Approved Member
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: Died from rust.
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2023, 08:20:12 PM »