Author Topic: Manual used, or Automatic new.  (Read 3150 times)

Andy H

• Registered Member
Manual used, or Automatic new.
« on: May 05, 2023, 03:00:59 PM »
Hi.  Newbie here.

I have a problem choosing a Jazz. And though you guys and gals will be the experts.  The question may seem a strange or a stupid one to many.  But has me undecided,

The choice is between a 2018 / 2019  manual. Or a new 2023 Hybrid (Automatic).  My problem is that I have never driven an automatic.   For many years I just drove a 3 ½ ton transit, often close to its weight limit (no car), though I did have two civic’s  in the 80’s and 90’s.  It became second nature to always apply the handbrake when stopped on a hill, or at lights etc.  Where I live, I have to go up a steep hill to a roundabout, wait, then turn left or right.  But there is no conventional handbrake in a Jazz automatic, I know there is an electric handbrake, but I haven’t a clue how that is used by people.

So my question is.   How do people (with the Jazz automatic) cope stopping at the top of a steep hill.   Is the hill assist (which I’ve never had) that good,  or do people use the electric handbrake the same way a manual is used, or does one need to play with the accelerator to keep the car from going backwards, or do people just keep the foot on the brakes.   The last two I don’t fancy doing.

Like I say, most will probably think its a daft question,  But, I’ve been driving a manual car / van for about forty five years, and have no clue about automatics.

Thanks

Andy.

Kremmen

• Approved Member
  • Civinfo interloper
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: MY22 Jazz EX
Re: Manual used, or Automatic new.
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2023, 03:38:33 PM »
My solution :

You pull up on the footbrake and lift the electronic lever which is like the old handbrake. Then you can take your feet off the pedals. Hover over the accelerator if you like.