Author Topic: 1.4 automatic Jazz 07 steering rack cost?  (Read 5181 times)

Vigman

• Approved Member
  • My Honda: Jazz 1.4. Automatic
1.4 automatic Jazz 07 steering rack cost?
« on: August 05, 2018, 11:32:26 AM »
Hi

Newbie here after many years in the Renault forum!

I've read the thread about stiff steering in this model 07 Jazz 1.4 automatic and see some people had the steering rack replaced.

I bought this quite recently and although old has only 25,000 miles and full Honda service history and a new MOT.

Recently I had the transmission fluid flushed and replaced to sort out the slight judder issue. At the same time the Honda dealer did a health check and the steering wasn't mentioned as an issue.

However, at motorway speeds the wheel seems really stiff to turn. Even at low speeds it is far stiffer than my old Renault Scenic which could be turned with one finger.

Anyway, this is obviously out of warranty so what could I expect to pay to change the steering rack ( at an independent garage Imuse at £30 per hour not a Honda dealer which charges £88+VAT per hour?

Also does the steering continue to get stiffer if nothing is done?

Thanks for letting me in the forum!

TIA

Vigman

Jocko

• Approved Member
  • Fuel economy:
  • My Honda: Died from rust.
Re: 1.4 automatic Jazz 07 steering rack cost?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2018, 12:07:02 PM »
Welcome. The Jazz has electric power steering. Perhaps a fuse has blown. Check F2 (40A) in the engine fuse box.

Vigman

• Topic Starter
  • Approved Member
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2018, 12:16:26 PM »
Thanks for the welcome and reply.

I will do that but it is more like the issue I found in a long thread here on stiff and notchy steering on this model, especially at speed, where people with cars under warranty had their steering rack changed.

Vigman

Jocko

• Approved Member
  • Fuel economy:
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2018, 01:28:56 PM »